2021 Teacher of the Year - Sarah Stockton

Sarah Stockton is the Vocal Music Director at Walled Lake Western High School.  She directs 4 curricular choirs and 2 extra-curricular ensembles, as well as directs the all-school musical.  Before joining WLW in 2018, Mrs. Stockton was the Vocal Music Director at Grand Blanc High School since 2006 and choir teacher at Grand Blanc West Middle School since 2009.  Sarah holds a Master of Music in Choral Conducting from Michigan State University, studying under Dr. David Rayl and Dr. Jonathan Reed, and a Bachelor of Music Education from Central Michigan University. Her mentor, Dr. Nina Nash-Robertson (CMU) passed away in 2018, but has made a lasting impact on her teaching.

Sarah’s choirs regularly perform and excel in Michigan Schools Vocal Music Association’s (MSVMA) Solo and Ensemble and Choral Festivals, and she currently serves as an Adjudicator and curriculum coordinator.  She has been a Summer Conference presenter and is currently the District 4 Manager.  Additionally, Mrs. Stockton was selected as the 2020 6-7-8 SA Honors Choir director for the Michigan Schools Vocal Music Association.  

Mrs. Stockton was also previously the Artistic Director for the New Century Chorale, an adult community choir in the Grand Blanc area from 2009-2018.  She served as a frequent soprano soloist and guest conductor in the Flint community, as well taught private voice and piano lessons.  

In 2018, Sarah was honored to become a choral staff member for the Michigan Ambassadors of Music.  She traveled to England, France, Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Liechtenstein, and Germany during the summer of 2019.  Mrs. Stockton was a 2016 and2017 Chairman’s Award Nominee for Educator of the Year by the Grand Blanc Chamber of Commerce, and was recently nominated for the 2021-2022 Michigan Teacher of the Year program. 

She resides in Farmington Hills with her husband, Josh and their son Everett. They have two dogs, Kofax and Peanut. In her free time, she enjoys creating resources for her Teachers Pay Teachers store, gardening, and crafting. 

2020 Kevin Cornwell 

2019 James Cumings

2018 Monty Bishop

2017 Kelli Falls
2016 Rebecca Scofield
2015 Pamela Pierson 
2014 Steve Hinz and Russ Larimer
2013 Todd Schreiber
2012 Rodney Bushey
2011 James Borst
2010 Robert Cindric
2009 Norma Freeman
2008 Bruce Snyder

2007 Richard Ingram
2006 Cheryl Gapinski

2005 Catherine Brodie and Wendee Wolf-Schlarf

2004 Robert Oster

2003 Mark Webb

2002 Gregory Cleveland

2001 Nina Scott

2000 Leslie Rowsey

1999 Robert A. Martin

1998 Virginia Anderson-Kerwin

1997 Susan Catanese

1996 Frank DeWald and Robert Sabourin

1995 Shirley Lemon

1994 Thomas Stokes

1993 Wendy Lake and Nancy Lange
1992 Nancy Bray
1991 Larry Wolf
1990 Brazeal Dennard
1989 John Tyner
1988 David Jorlett
1987 Howard Rizner
1986 Marvin Ritsema
1985 Donald Scott
1984 Helmut "Fritz" Petrich
1983 Roger Dehn
1982 John Bright
1981 Lowell Everson and James Mahoney

1980 Dorotha Schuler

1979 Jerry Smith

1978 Guy "Skip" Frizzell

1977 James Leonard
1976 Andy Zerban
1975 John Tousley
1974 Robert Ballard
1973 Eugene Dyer
1972 Eleanor Balaam
1971 John Elwell
1970 Gerald Gilbert
1969 Alfred "Giff" Richards
1968 Kenneth Jewell


Michigan School Vocal Music Association

P.O. Box 1131

Big Rapids, MI 49307-1131

(231) 592 - 9344


© copyright 2019 MSVMA, All rights reserved.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software